Copyright © 2012 - 2015 Rush Hour Driving School
Website by AJR
Steps to getting your permit and license.
Requirements for minors under the age of 18:
Take Drivers Education
Drivers education can be taken at really any age, most take it at around 15 years of age. As required by the STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES Drivers education consists of thirty (30) periods of fifty (50) minutes (25 hours not including
breaks, in a in-class setting). Breaks may range from 5 to 10 minutes. It is scheduled over four days ( Each student may receive a
maximum of seven (7) hours of instruction per day). Once all four classes are complete a certificate of completion is issued. Or check
our on-line driver ed class to enroll and complete at your own pace at home.
Currently as of 8/21/2013 we are not holding in-class drivers education.
Our on-line class is offered here.
2nd Go to Department of Motor Vehicles
You must be at least 15 1/2 years of age.
Have a drivers education completion certificate.
Provide an acceptable birth date/legal presence document (original copies only will be accepted).
Provide your true full name.
Provide your SSN (must match your name on your birth certificate exactly).
Pay a nonrefundable application fee.(This fee entitles you to three exams of any type within the 12-month period and
pays for both the instruction permit and the driver license. If all requirements are not met within the 12-month period, the
application becomes void and all steps must be completed again.)
Submit a completed and signed DMV Driver application (DL 44) form.
Take your written test at the DMV. The questions asked on the test will be from the "California Hand Book". A passing
score is eight (8) errors or less out of 46 questions.
NOTE: READ YOUR CALIFORNIA HAND BOOK! According to
for the state of California the overall fail rate for applicants on their first-attempt for the written test is 67 percent.
Examiners in Clovis CA DMV state that 82 percent of teenagers fail their first-attempt on the written test in the Clovis office.
They say the reason is that teens do not read the California Hand Book...
click here for a PDF version of Book.
The test is taken on a TouchScreen Test Machine.
More info click here.
Find out How To Take DMV's New Permit Test on the
TouchScreen Test Machine on
CONGRATULATIONS YOU PASSED!!
You have your permit! Call our office 559-297-6903 and schedule your driver training lessons.
NOTE: READ YOUR PERMIT!
Your permit will NOT be valid until you have your FIRST driver training session with a Driving Instructor and he or she
sign off on your permit. Failure to do this may result in the loss of your permit till age 18 if caught driving with an invalid
permit, including driving in parking lots open to the public. But if you reach the age of 17 1/2 it will then be OK to drive
with anyone 25 years of age or older. When you are 17 1/2 you do not need to take driver education to get a permit nor
do you have to do driver training. To take the drive test in-car you must have your permit for minimum six (6) months or wait until your
Drivers Training consist of six (6) hours taken over 3 days 2 hour sessions each day for a total of 6 hours of behind the wheel training.
Complete Drivers Training. Once you complete your drivers training you will be issued a Behind-the-Wheel completion certificate (Gold
color). Do not lose your certificate you will need this for your DMV Drive Test.
Drive Test Requirements: If you are under 18 years of age you must:
Be at least 16 years of age.
Complete six (6) hours of Drivers Training and be issued a Behind-the-Wheel completion certificate.
Have held your permit for a minimum of six months.
Have completed 50 hours of practice with an adult 25 years or older. The adult must have a valid California driver
license and certify to the 50 hours of practice. At least 10 of the 50 hours must have been done at night.
Have a drive test scheduled at the DMV.
Day of the in-vehicle Drive Test bring:
Your permit signed by a parent or guardian accepting liability for the minor.
Provide proof of financial responsibility (car insurance for the car used on the drive test)
Current registration for car used on drive test.
Your completion of Behind-the-Wheel certificate (gold color) given to you by your Driving Instructor. The in-vehicle Drive
Test is about 15 - 20 minutes...Good Luck!!!
Drivers Education Classes
Drivers Training Instruction